2015 IoM Championships


It was great to see so many newcomers and first time triathletes to the IoM Triathlon Championships at the Mooragh Park in Ramsey.  Antony Bell-Scott & Karen Shimmin are the new 2015 Standard Distance Triathlon Champions, whilst Will Draper and Lisa Dunwell are the new Sprint Champions.


Antony Bell Scott ran a fabulous race neck and neck with Juan Kinley through the swim and the bike, but Abs was able to pull away on the run to take 1st place in 2:03:51s, with Juan 2nd in 2:07:15 and Ryan Downey in 3rd. 

Although Karen was the only lady, she was strong throughout, having had a great years racing and finishing 8th overall against 29 men, in a time of 2:19:56


15 year old Will Draper, and first time triathlete showed that he is an excellent runner as well as a cyclist and overhauled Russ Collister on the final leg to take 1st place in a time of 1:06:26 in the Sprint, with Russ finishing in 1:06:42.  Tom Isaac, making a return after a year off, finished strongly in 3rd in a time of 1:08:56.


Lisa Dunwell had a great race with Jan Catchpole in the Ladies Sprint, with Lisa pulling ahead of Jan on the run leg.  Lisa won in a time of 1:20:31, with Jan in 2nd in 1:24:23 and Beverly Broderick in 3rd in 1:25:43.

The Teams all had great races in their own categories with some very close head to heads on each of their individual stages, particularly Robin Garry up against Gianni Epifani and Darren Bell on the Bike leg in the Standard and Ben Corkill, Kevin Loundes & Aaron Livesy on the run. 

See the full results here.    

View Photos from the event here https://www.facebook.com/pages/Microgaming-Triathlon-2015/1650070675204900?sk=photos_stream&ref=page_internal     Photos courtesy of Microgaming & Bill Dale

Thank you to all the marshals who did a fantastic job, and to Steve Shimmin for his very entertaining commentary and Graham & Sue Hughes for all the timekeeping.